Charter Standard Awarded

The FA Charter Standard programme supported by McDonald’s is a kitemark, which recognises and rewards high quality levels of provision in club and lea

The FA Charter Standard kitemark was launched in 2001 and now has 6800 clubs, with 653 advanced level Community Clubs and 300 leagues. The kitemark is a major focus of The FA’s £200 million FA National Game Strategy and has improved coaching, the number of girls’ football teams and safeguarding children. There are three levels of FA Charter Standard Awards for clubs to recognise the different standards. The entry level is an ‘FA Charter Standard Club’, the next level is an ‘FA Charter Standard Development Club’ and the most advanced ‘FA Charter Standard Community Club’. Each advanced level requires additional criteria to be met.

The minimum required criteria for achieving the entry level award includes:

•  A trained Welfare Officer
• CRB checks for all volunteers
• Emergency Aid-trained volunteers linked to each team
• Codes of Conduct
• A Level One coach for each youth team

The Guernsey Football Association (GFA) is committed to ensuring that every parent has peace of mind in knowing that their child is playing football at a Club which places great emphasis on providing coaching, development and education in a safe and protected environment, and this commitment is illustrated through the coach education, in-service and mentoring delivered by the Development Staff to support local Clubs. The GFA is delighted that this commitment is shared by each of the seven senior Member Clubs that continually strive to provide the best environment for players of all ages to enjoy participating.

To ensure that Clubs remain compliant with the Charter Standard criteria, the Guernsey Football Association issue an Annual Health Check and also supports and monitors the training of those volunteering within each Club with the health check support clubs in:

• Monitoring the validity of their voluntary workforce in relation to coach education and welfare
• Identifying their workforce / coach education requirements for the season
• Asking questions about how the club adheres to The FA Charter Standard criteria.

All FA Charter Standard clubs are required to complete and return their Health Check Form to their County FA within the time period specified by the County FA upon distribution. Each of GFA’s seven senior Member Clubs have now completed their 2015/16 Health Check, and the GFA is pleased to announce that each Club has successfully completed the process with each Club achieving the kitemark at the following levels:

FA Charter Standard Club

Belgrave Wanderers

Northerners AC

Guernsey Rangers

St Martins AC

FA Charter Standard Development Club

Vale Recreation

FA Charter Standard Community Club

Guernsey Rovers

UCF Sylvans

Related News

View All