Charter Standard


The FA Charter Standard programme supported by McDonald’s is a kitemark, which recognises and rewards high quality levels of provision in club and league football. The kitemark is awarded to clubs and leagues that are well run, sustainable, which place child protection, quality coaching and safety paramount. The scheme is designed to improve the playing experience for all involved in the game. For further information on Charter Standard Leagues please take a look at the document below.

The FA Charter Standard kitemark was launched in 2001 and now has 6800 clubs, with 653 advanced level Community Clubs and 300 leagues. The kitemark is a major focus of The FA’s £200 million FA National Game Strategy and has improved coaching, the number of girls’ football teams and safeguarding children.

There are three levels of FA Charter Standard Awards for clubs to recognise the different standards. The entry level is an ‘FA Charter Standard Club’, the next level is an ‘FA Charter Standard Development Club’ and the most advanced ‘FA Charter Standard Community Club’. Each advanced level requires additional criteria to be met.

The Guernsey Football Association is committed to ensuring that every parent has peace of mind in knowing that their child is playing football at a Club which places great emphasis on providing coaching, development and education in a safe and protected environment.

The criteria for achieving the entry level award include:


•  A trained Welfare Officer
• CRB checks for all volunteers
• Emergency Aid-trained volunteers linked to each team
• Codes of Conduct
• A Level One coach for each youth team


To ensure that Clubs remain compliant with the Charter Standard criteria, the Guernsey Football Association issue an Annual Health Check and also supports and monitors the training of those volunteering within each Club. This health check will support clubs in:

• Monitoring the validity of their voluntary workforce in relation to coach education and welfare
• Identifying their workforce / coach education requirements for the season
• Asking questions about how the club adheres to The FA Charter Standard criteria.

All FA Charter Standard clubs are required to complete and return their Health Check Form to their County FA within the time period specified by the County FA upon distribution. Failure to do so can result in their FA Charter Standard accreditation may be suspended.

To visit The FA's Charter Standard page, click here

To view the FA Charter Standard Club Criteria click here

Football Foundation Banner

Facebook Find Us